Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
H
Hall of Famer
Hall of Famer
H
Reason for optimism: The Browns are actually winning. 4 wins in 5 games. That's an excellent turnaround from where the team was at midseason.

Dorsey has added a lot of good players.

Say what you want about Gregg Williams, but that guy can coach.

Mayfield has been excellent. He's young, he's on the first year of a rookie deal, which will allow the Browns to surround him with more talent than they'd be able to do if he was one of the QBs pushing $30mil/year. He's a natural leader too, and makes other players better.

D
Hall of Famer
Hall of Famer
D
I would say most at this level can coach. But it's refreshing to have a coach who actually just coaches for a change. Let the GM do his job. Let the coaches do their job.

Hall of Famer
Hall of Famer
j/c -

I am a long time resident, and employee, of the isle. Once I jumped on the ship for the ride over ... zero second thoughts.

As I was watching the game last night, I thought about the particulars of how different it is this year.

This year, on 3rd and 10, 3rd and 12, I feel as though we have a legitimate shot at picking up the 1st, and not just by penalty. Last year? LOL. Third and four, and I knew one these things were going to happen:
- Incomplete pass, thrown two yards before the 1st down marker
- WR screen caught 4 yards behind the line of scrimmage, and not blockers, hoping the WR can get past 6 defenders
- false start, so 3rd and 9
- holding, so 3rd and 14
- and, of course, if it was in the red zone - interception

This team is restoring my trust, and faith. And that is not easy.

Last night, that was the kind of game we would lose before this year. The (IMO) stupid choice to not kick the FG and go up by 4. Before this year, that bites us in the brownies. This year, the D sacked up and did the job. Bailed us out of a bad decision, and not let the bad decision dictate the outcome of the game.