Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 9 of 10 1 2 7 8 9 10
B
Legend
Legend
B
I agree. He seems like a good egg and is decent. With him, it is just going to boil down to numbers and if the Browns feel they have some other player who has more upside when considering the longer range view.

Mediocre players like Hubbard finally come to a point in their career where they are probably going to bounce around on 1-2 year deals. They are good enough to help many teams in the short term but aren't going to fit in to any long term plans.

If he makes the team this year, I seriously doubt he will be back for another. Just the life cycle of the "just good enough" NFL player.

In the end, I doubt he makes the team this year. If being cut is the inevitable, as a seasoned vet I hope the Browns cut ties before the last cuts. Give him some time to latch on somewhere else when some other team realizes they need to upgrade the back-up in a hurry. After the 1st pre-season game, he might bring a 7th rounder in trade. Maybe a little better.

If everybody had like minds, we would never learn.

GM Strong

[Linked Image]
Legend
Legend
It's a cutthroat game in that regard, but I think that because of how he responded and just kept being him is why he's still on the roster as it is. Granted, at $4.9M, his Cap Hit isn't gargantuan, but it is still a sizable chunk for a swing tackle, I think. I think because of how he handled his business, he will be given every opportunity to win the job for the year, but I don't see any way that he's brought back next year. He's a free agent in 2022.

Browns is the Browns

... there goes Joe Thomas, the best there ever was in this game.

Legend
Legend
Originally Posted By: Ballpeen