Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
H
hitt Offline OP
Dawg Talker
OP Offline
Dawg Talker
H
I don't have an answer for this problem....but WOW, how can things be this bad. I'm a former teacher. I couldn't continue because in my state...Florida...we let kids/ young adults go thru the system- yet don't ensure they have the skills to succeed as adults. Example- student can't read well, so teacher is FORCED to dumb down tests= multiple choice not four answers, correct answer AND one way off the mark allowed...so instead of failing student's grade goes to B. When teacher asks if student will pass the Florida exit exam. Answer is no, they'll get a certificate that states they attended school. Instead of getting enough dedicated reading help, student is pushed thru system.

Check out this Baltimore case- JMHOs, where was the father, why didn't school talk face to face with mother the first year?; how can a student with .13 GPA be in top half....dear God, and these students will soon be adults, voting for our future, and how functional as adults will they be? This is third world.
A Baltimore high school student passed all but three classes over four years and still graduated near the top half of his class with a 0.13 GPA, according to Fox 45 Baltimore.'https://www.msn.com/en-us/news/us/baltimore-hs-student-fails-all-but-3-classes-over-4-years-ranks-near-top-half-of-class/vi-BB1efq4P

"You've never lived till you've almost died, life has a flavor the protected will never know" A vet or cop
Legend
Legend
we're not the only society with dysfunctional families. western europe and everywhere else has em too.

look at how they treat the public education system compared to us, and you can readily see the issues.

“To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public.”

- Theodore Roosevelt
B
Legend
Legend
B
No doubt it is.