Next Thread
Print Thread
#2011492 04/13/23 09:14 PM
A
Legend
OP Offline
Legend
A
(don't know if randomness is a word, though)

I umpire softball. I had no game tonight. The local team had a game at home though, so I went to it. More to watch and possibly learn from the umps. I've been umping for basically 7 years, but it's always good to stand back and watch others, in my opinion. (I did learn one thing: the base ump was .....well, the epitome of lethargic).

So, just watching. Game got over. The baseball team was playing, so I went and watched that as we have friends that have a son playing. So, I'm just standing there and some guy (I know HIM, but I don't think he knows me) asks me if I knew Joe Thomas was going to be near here (maybe 6 miles from my house) next Wednesday. He then pointed at my Browns shirt I was wearing.

I said I didn't know that, asked him some info - he gave me someone's number, we talked a bit, and I went up to sit with my friend. "Hey, you know Joe Thomas is going to be at the Legion Hall next wednesday?" He said yeah, then asked if I wanted a ticket. "Uh, yeah." I think I have an extra one. Wait, maybe I don't. But I'll get you one. He sent a text to someone.(he's a well connected person). Sure enough, I got a ticket.

All because I wanted to watch other umpires and possibly learn some do's and do nots - I get to meet and listen to Joe Thomas.

5 members like this: Clemdawg, jfanent, GMdawg
A
Legend
OP Offline
Legend
A
Unbelievable night. Joe was, in person, exactly what he was on the field.

He was very open. ( I sat about 7 feet away from him) Said he didn't like to make speeches, so "let's just do a Q and A" But prior to that, I asked if I could get a picture of him and me. He said yeah, why don't you come up here" So, I did.

bit later I had some stuff - "Hey, are you signing anything? I hate to be pushy." he said "yes, what do you have?" Then, " I stole a sharpie."