Print Thread
#1871601 07/19/21 08:45 AM
S
Spawn1 Offline OP
Practice Squad
OP Offline
Practice Squad
S
This might seem random, but I have been fly fishing in lakes, ponds and creeks most of my life. But later this summer I'm going to try my hand at saltwater fly fishing on Assateague Island in Virginia. I've never done this before and was wondering if anyone had any advice.

Some research I've done says I need a heavier weight rod, I currently have a 6 wt, but these guys were recommending a 9/10 wt.

I go surf fishing up there every year, but this year I thought I would try something new. Any tips would be helpful.

Spawn1 #1871604 07/19/21 08:56 AM
Hall of Famer
Hall of Famer
Get a guide rent some tackle wink

Joe Thomas #73
Spawn1 #1871608 07/19/21 09:36 AM
Legend
Legend

I did a quick look at Assateague Island.

First understand the species you target. That will tell you what equipment.

Then know the type of water. Surf fishing is way different than fly fishing from a boat targeting shallow reefs for bonefish.

I found this:

"fish toms cove with small shrimp flies for croaker/ sea trout / blues etc. I’m gonna try the surf side this year with some crab flies for some puppy drum. Also you could get some flounder with a clouser minnow. I think most guys would use a sink tip or intermediate for the flounder. I would fish the back side of the drive on beach if I were fly fishing toms cove"

Your 6 wt. will handle this type of fishing.

Salt water fly fishing is an entire world to itself.

Equipment is matched to what you target from 5 wt. to
12 wt. typically. You can wade flats for smaller species.
You can tease sailfish to the boat and flip a fly for a hook up.

Tarpon on a fly rod is a supreme challenge. My son just accomplished that a few months ago.

Unless you know the water most salt water fly fishing is best done with a guide. Their local knowledge is very valuable. Unless you have a lot of time. They are well worth it.