Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Dawg Talker
OP Offline
Dawg Talker
Another question regarding software and such for those who are smarter than I.

As you know, I am now a Real estate agent in the Keys, and I need to get a website up and running. Initially, it doesn't need to be too fancy, but I will need to be able to add to it as I go.

A few things that are mandatory though....

1. I will need to be able to integrate our MLS IDX to it so folks can search my properties. The IDX will take care of the logs of who searches and what they are searching for.

2. Will need a contact page or webform that isn't going to flood my inbox with spambots.

3. Would like to be able to post information that is helpful for prospective buyers and sellers like articles (with proper credit of course).

So my question is this, am I better off getting some software and doing it myself? (and if so, what software do you recommend?) Or should I sub it out to a designer? I'm sure there are a ton of hosts out there, are there any that you have found to be better than others? Why?

Thanks in advance for the help.

KeysDawg

The fact that some geniuses were laughed at does not imply that all who are laughed at are geniuses. - Carl Sagan
N
Dawg Talker
Dawg Talker
N
1. I think you will need a pro to design this.

2. Get a second e-mail address. Putting any e-mail online will result in a LOT of mail, and not much you can do about it.

3. GET THE CODE. If you pay for a webpage, the code that creates it BELONGS TO YOU. Do NOT repeat NOT pay any cash without receiving that code.

4. If the DNS registration and hosting is not done by you, GET THE PASSWORDS. See #3. Both passwords, there will be one for the registration and one for updating on the host. Test them on your PC, verify that they work BEFORE PAYING FOR ANYTHING. Immediately change the DNS password, and make sure you do not loose it.