Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 10 1 2 3 4 9 10
Hall of Famer
Hall of Famer
Originally Posted by RocketOptimist
Dialectical thinking is a skill I’ve been working on for a few months, Memphis. I’ve been on record multiple times that I would prefer the statue out in front of the stadium to be melted.

If you want to talk about Kareem, I understand where you’re coming from. It’s something I’ve continually wrestled with. At the same time, I view it much like the Myles Garrett situation. As a white guy, I truly have no idea what it’s like to be called the slur either of them was called. Is it cool he threw the woman into the door jam? No, not at all. However, given whatever Kareem and Myles have faced in their life, I try to do the Atticus Finch thing and try to put myself in their shoes to understand their reaction and perspective.

Kareem had a troubled past, but he’s seemed to embrace this second chance, and looks like he’s trying to atone for all he has done. Same with Myles.

Watson has yet to show any of this remorse or desire to atone.

Call this whatever you want, but I know I can’t justify rooting for Watson. No way I can explain to my son in the future, or other future children I may have, why their father rooted for a sexual predator.

Life is more than a fandom. Life is trying to make the world a better place one day at a time.

Do you have any idea what it's like to be "big man on campus" and spend most of your adult life with women throwing themselves at you? I'm not saying the women in the lawsuits did, but if you are used to women doing that, and then these women are rubbing on you, I can see how he may have read the signals wrong.

Again, I'm not saying this is the case. I'm saying that it could be the case. That's not an excuse for the behavior, but he's not necessarily a monster.

A big, spoiled, horny "kid", apparently so. At the minimum.