Next Thread
Print Thread
#2007614 03/14/23 11:51 PM
O
Legend
OP Offline
Legend
O
I don't really want to make this thread about me, but I wanted to share some good news I got today and thought a thread for good news might be a good thing. Anyway, I hope all of you share good news too.

The backstory:

Between Halloween and Thanksgiving last year, I started to pass blood in my urine. I read about it online and decided to take a wait-and-see approach before freaking my wife out during the holidays. The blood came and went for a few weeks, mostly not showing itself. But I was concerned enough to tell my wife the first week in December. I told her if it were terrible, like cancer, it wouldn't kill me in two or three weeks, and I would go to the doctor after the New Year. Because I'm an internet Doctor...

January rolls around, and I get in to see my family doctor. He ran a test and could not detect blood, but since I saw it visibly, he could send me to a urologist for further diagnosis. So the last week in January, I had a cat scan that showed two 1cm nodules, one inside my bladder and one in a lymph node in my pelvis. They also saw two 1mm and 2mm nodules in my lungs that we have been monitoring for over five years now with no growth. So, they scheduled a cystoscopy to send a camera UP in there to see what it was for the first week of February. The cystoscopy confirmed, without a doubt, I had bladder cancer. The doctor discounted the lymph node in my pelvis as swelling for now, but we will follow up on that later.