Next Thread
Print Thread
#2059880 02/18/24 12:27 PM
P
Hall of Famer
OP Offline
Hall of Famer
P
As many of you may know I’m a nurse, but I’m also an artist. I’ve been a nurse for 27 years, an artist my entire 51 year life. Over the past handful of years my art has started being financially lucrative. Last year was crazy from that standpoint. I never could have imagined my creativity being so profitable. I’m blessed.

Well, two weeks ago I was laid off from my job as a nurse. Due to INCREDIBLY poor management I was let go related to ‘lack of census’… aka not enough clients under our care. I’ve been watching that slow train rolling down the tracks towards me for some time. I just bided my time and socked away money… the train hit. Honestly, it was the proverbial bandaide being ripped off for me. The push off the cliff I’ve been standing on the precipice of for a year or so.
So… I’m taking my severance pay and opening a new door. I’m making a run at my art career full time. It’s scary as hell but I believe the cosmos/God has plans for me. Ones I may have been too scared to attempt without that bandaide being ripped off for me.

My buddy I create with and I regularly get chosen as a top 3 or 4 artist chosen to make a presentation to get a gig that we, and hundreds of other artists, have applied for. We’re in the running for a gig in Orange County, top three. So a 33.4% chance of landing that gig. We were recently top 4 for a gig in Colorado… we did our presentation on Friday… we were unanimously chosen. Getting that gig. A gig that will pay me my entire year’s nursing salary with just a couple months of hard work. I’m blessed. I’m eternally humbled that my lifetime of sharing my creativity has culminated in the place I find myself today.
Life in the arts is no guarantee but I wholeheartedly believe that I wasn’t put on this earth to not be an artist. So I’m taking the leap of faith.