Next Thread
Print Thread
#314972 10/10/08 11:02 PM
A
All Pro
OP Offline
All Pro
A
I've been training for the past five months for a 5k tomorrow. I don't know how many of you ran 5k or still do, but what advice is there for an over-the-hill runner like me? I ran in HS but afterwards, not so much.

Here is the 5k. It's at a local college:
race webpage

Go Browns!
Hall of Famer
Hall of Famer
Find a short cut and take it.

[Linked Image from pic18.picturetrail.com]
"The Browns' defense is kicking mucho dupa."
Rookie
Rookie
I ran back in HS as well. Mostly a sprinter but I ran a 5K. I guess the best advice is to don't set the pace too fast too early and if you feel strong pick it up a bit. No matter how you feel smile when you cross the finish line.

How old is over the hill? What is your target mile pace?

[color:"red"] [b]"and then depression set in..."[/color]
[Linked Image]
B
Hall of Famer
Hall of Famer
B
Aren't you in your mid-20's? How's that over the hill?

I'm a sprinter by nature, but try and put in about 20 miles a week, mostly either doing daily runs of 3.1 (5K) or 5 milers. If you have that sprinting bug in you, go at a steady pace that YOU can handle for as long as you can, then with whatever distance is left that you feel comfortable gunning it, DO IT.

Rookie
Rookie
Mid 20's? I'm 44 and run down but I wouldn't consider my self over the hill. At the top, looking down but not over it.

I looked at the course map. The elevation change is 0. Run as hard as you can until you puke. Then settle in to a nice pace. Avoid running in circles it takes longer.

[color:"red"] [b]"and then depression set in..."[/color]
[Linked Image]
All Pro
All Pro
if youre not ready after 5 months, you might be better off using your POS Cavalier

[Linked Image]

When it gets cold and snows and the wind blows, you gotta be able to run the ball. - TR
Legend
Legend