Next Thread
Print Thread
#513305 07/22/10 02:22 PM
B
Dawg Talker
OP Offline
Dawg Talker
B
I'm putting together my first resume in about a decade and I thought I'd throw it out there to you folks...

A lot of you, seemingly, make the decision to hire someone or move on to the next applicant with your respective companies or businesses. My question to you is what are you looking for? What's important to you? What's a "killshot", lol, in regards to a resume?

I know you can buy books and different things for help on the subject - just wanted to get some thoughts from actual people. I also know that putting one together at age 30 is a lot different from putting one together at 22 which was the last time I did it - so any help is appreciated.

Thank You.

"If it weren't for my horse, I wouldn't have spent that year in college"
GO ROCKETS
O
Legend
Legend
O
I'm no expert by any stretch, but I've written and seen quite a few resumes in my short career.

1. You need customized resumes. Don't just write one and keep using that. You need to reword your bullet-points to each job description. This is because you need the correct...

2. Keywords. Most, if not all, companies use software to read and filter resumes. These are set up to scan for specific keywords in your resume. Read the job description and figure out the keywords, then make sure they make it into your submitted resume.

There is no level of sucking we haven't seen; in fact, I'm pretty sure we hold the patents on a few levels of sucking NOBODY had seen until the past few years.

-PrplPplEater
Legend
Legend
What kind of companies will you be applying to? An architecture firm is going to look for different things in a resume than an engineer.. trust me, I'm an engineer.

Are you going to be applying to mega corps that have huge HR departments and use OCR to scan resumes or will you be primarily applying to smaller firms where a person, like me, is going to read it?