Next Thread
Print Thread
#811199 09/04/13 11:28 PM
L
Legend
OP Online
Legend
L
Ok, its that time I've been putting off for about 7 years..lol, Time to replace the roof on the ol homestead. Older home with no ventilation in the roof/attic has basically baked the asphalt right out. So i got a couple contractors to quote, cheapest was about 9k. Thats seems pretty high to me. SO, i got to thinking about doing this myself, having never roofed before, but thinking this is something every man should be able to do right? So what I have is approx 22sq roof with 12/12 pitch. I know how much tar paper, ice guard, shingles and drip edge ill need. My question is what all tools will i need to do this, including safety. I have a 225psi dual tank compressor with dual tool connectors, so i can use any air tools recommended. Help me with a list guys!

Tomorrow is the most important thing in life. Comes into us at midnight very clean. It's perfect when it arrives and it puts itself in our hands. It hopes we've learned something from yesterday. -John Wayne
L
Legend
OP Online
Legend
L
oh also any tips for tear off and the actual reshingle would be great too..lol

Tomorrow is the most important thing in life. Comes into us at midnight very clean. It's perfect when it arrives and it puts itself in our hands. It hopes we've learned something from yesterday. -John Wayne
O
Legend
Legend
O
Go to the closest Menards and the will calculate your list.

12/12? You might want a safety rope and harness! And some foam rubber to sit/stand on.

Your feelings and opinions do not add up to facts.
O
Legend
Legend
O
Also, I'm not sure where you live but if there is a Mexican community nearby, with a spanish news paper... get in touch with them for contractors. Around Columbus many contractors sub contract roofing to Mexican crews. The are usually very skilled and fast.

Your feelings and opinions do not add up to facts.
Legend
Legend