A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A
Quote:

Quote:

I've explained this close to 20 times on this board and you still don't get it?

People hear what they want. If it doesn't sound good they ignore it. Whether it is anarchy with Bridgewater or Versatile with Carr, there is no talking people off their point.

I have no knowledge of what scouts are looking for when it comes to drafting a QB. However, as a Fresno State alumni and Browns fan I do have some insight on what he did at Fresno State.

1) Valid points have been made regarding the system that Derek played in for the last two years of his college career and his numbers as a result. It is a spread system that utilizes A LOT of screen passes (the screen has essentailly become Fresno State's running game) and is designed to create yards after the catch. The system was installed by Tim Deruyter after Pat Hill was fired at the end of 2011. However, Derek's first three years were spent learning and playing in a pro-set offense (he started in 2011 as a redshirt sophmore).

His stats in 2011 (in a pro-set offense) were as follows:

13 Games
62.6 Completion Percentage
3544 Yard Passing
26 touchdowns
9 Interceptions
144.51 passer rating

Make what you want of that. Those numbers were compiled while playing within the old WAC conference. However, they also played Cal, Old Miss, and Nebraska that year. I'm not going to sugar coat anything. Fresno State SUCKED in 2011 (4-9). Derek basically had an okay running back, Jalen Saunders (he transferred to Oklahoma in 2012 because Fresno went to the spread) and literally NOTHING ELSE (save for a bad offensive line). The defense was absolute garbage as well. Despite the problems they had, I'd say that Derek had a pretty good season.

Here is a highlight film for 2011. Obviously it is heavily waited to favor Derek, but it will hopefully dispell some of the ideas people seem to have regarding his arm strength and his abilities in the pocket.

http://vimeo.com/34423414