Next Thread
Print Thread
#2029105 09/20/23 09:29 AM
B
Legend
OP Offline
Legend
B
For those who like to and know how to cook, we all have tips. For those who don't know, you need to know. We all eat food, and the better you can cook, the better your life.

Share your tips here. If you can eat better, and make it easier, why the heck not? I'll start with a few of mine. I am a pretty good cook and have a lot, but am eager to learn more.

Herbs...use a pizza cutter. Just roll that sucker over the herbs you want to use. A lot easier and safer that using a sharp knife. You are also going to get a finer chop, and the finer the chop, the more flavor you get.

Poached eggs...nobody does that because it is a hassle. Use a muffin tin.

Spray the tin lightly, add a tablespoon of water and vinegar mixed 4:1 water, ( you can skip the vinegar) crack in the egg and bake in the over at 350 for maybe 10 minutes or so. Just check and take out when the yolks are the way you want them. You can cook a dozen at a time if you want. Add some diced ham or whatever you want at the beginning. Cheese near the end.

If you want Egg McMuffin style, use a bigger sized tin, and crack up the yolk before cooking. If you want runny, don't open up the yolk and cook to your liking.

Thick Rubber Bands...

Keep a few sizes in your drawer. They are great to use to open hard to open jar lids. Just strap them around the lid, now you get a grip.

Disposable shower caps.

If you have a mound of potato salad or something, just put a shower cap over the bowl. Keeps contaminents out and smells in.

If everybody had like minds, we would never learn.

GM Strong

[Linked Image]
Ballpeen #2029123 09/20/23 10:46 AM
O
Legend
Legend
O
When working with raw meats, I like to do everything I can to minimize the amount of surfaces contacted and the mess made. I have little ones at home and much of the counter space next to the sink is mixed use, so potential opportunities for little hands to pick up bacteria.