#1915415 12/31/21 03:32 PM
Pdawg Online OP
Legend
OP Online
Legend

#gmstrong
Legend
Legend
If you know anything about throwing a baseball or a football; the mechanics of throwing are critical.

I coached baseball and in particular pitching. I studied it. I went to clinics for coaching at Ga. Tech.

I watched tape. I read books by Tom Seaver. I talked about pitching mechanics with people like John Smoltz and others.

I took it very seriously. My son was a very good pitcher.

It has been obvious to me that it has been a problem with Baker. It has to be.

You can try to adjust. Inconsistency is to be expected.

How much has it bothered Baker? I don't think you can attach a percentage.

On some throws it will be a lot. On others maybe not so much.

I am not going to make excuses for bad decisions or missing some throws.

But to think it has had no impact is incorrect.

I will leave at that.

IMO Baker will with Browns next year. We shall see how it goes.

2 members like this: Dave, Jester
P
Legend
Legend
P
I believe that the mechanics of throwing are critical. Now if we could only explain the footwork issue we've seen so much of or the throwing into double coverage and not seeing the safety.

Intoducing for The Cleveland Browns, Quarterback Deshawn "The Predator" Watson. He will also be the one to choose your next head coach.

#gmstrong
D
Legend
Legend
D
Van Pelt addressed footwork in the presser, although not to the degree he did with throwing mechanics re: the shoulder harness. He said Mayfield regressed a bit in the GB game, and fell back into bad habits a couple times. He said not practicing for 2 weeks could be a factor because those footwork mechanics need regular work. I know some will say it was excuse-making, but I think its reasonable in the absence of any other reason for Baker throwing off his heels on the airmailed int to Landry and on the int to the left where it looked like his cleats got stuck in the turf before he could get square to the throw.