Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
R
Hall of Famer
OP Offline
Hall of Famer
R
I am a special education teacher for an inner-city school district. As summer winds down, my anxiety has picked up. I worry immensely about the upcoming school year. Earlier this summer, the principal called me and asked if I would be willing to take on a group of eighth grade students who have been coded with "Emotional Disturbance". To which I accepted. It was no surprise that their teacher from last year didn't return after having a rough school year with them (threats, behavior, etc.)

I accepted the position earlier this summer. As the year draws closer, I have never regretted anything so much in my life as I regret becoming a teacher. The stress involved with the schooling and licensing examinations has taken its toll on my family and I. I have spent hours upon hours studying and worrying about examination results. Going into this school year, the state of Ohio has implemented a mentoring program for new teachers, who must pass a series of assessments over a four year span in order to have their licenses renewed. - I just found this out last week. Needless to write, the stress has gotten to me. I have been stressed about my class during the upcoming school year, stressed about my student loans, stressed about future licensure observations that will take place in a classroom with Emotionally Disturbed students, stressed about failing. That's a big one right there, I have been so stressed about failing. . .